Pound4Pound, Boxing News
 

     

  Oscar De La Hoya LA Live Workout

Photos: Triller Fight Club

 

Boxing Legend, ‘The Golden Boy’ Oscar De La Hoya, hit the XBOX Plaza at LA LIVE on Tuesday evening, August 24 to host an open workout for a huge crowd of adoring fans and a massive contingent of local and international media. Looking in exceptional form, De La Hoya worked the mitts for the cheering crowd and brought a couple fans into the ring to join him during the entertaining event.

Presented by Triller Fight Club, De La Hoya will battle former UFC Superstar Vitor ‘The Phenom’ Belfort in the main event of LEGENDS II set for Saturday, September 11 at STAPLES Center.

OSCAR DE LA HOYA


“Call me crazy but I just miss it, I missed getting hit and doing the hitting. I wasn’t ready to retire after I lost to Manny Pacquiao. I never felt like I was in wars so in boxing you’re just as old as how you feel.”

“I went through hell and back treating my body wrong but these last six months I feel amazing. I refocused myself and rededicated myself and I’m actually doing this for me, I can’t wait.”

“The weight limit is 185 but I’m going to come in at 175, strong like an ox. I’m at 180 right now. I’m the underdog because the bettors don’t believe in me but I finally put the train back on the rails.
 

“I’m not a betting man or a gambler but I would put a lot of money on me. I’m going to surprise people on how I do it. I’ve been training smart, I’ve been very motivated in training since we opened camp.”

“I’m going to give the fans a war. I’ve been studying Marvin Hagler vs. Thomas Hearns for a reason. I want a fight, a war. I have a good chin and I can take the punch.”

“I know Vitor Belfort has the same mentality. He was a boxer first before he became the UFC Heavyweight Champion. I have to be calculating with my attack and stay away from his big left hand.”

“There will be a knockout, my inspiration for this fight is Arturo Gatti. I want one of those types of fights.”
 

Remaining tickets starting at $75 are now on-sale and may be purchased through AXS.com or at this Ticket Link. Doors will open on the day of the event at 3:00 p.m. PT. The STAPLES Center is located at 1111 S. Figueroa St. in Los Angeles, CA 90015. Very-limited VIP packages as well as Super-Exclusive behind the scenes packages will be available too.

The FREE Preview will start at 11:00 p.m. BST / 6:00 p.m. ET / 3:00 p.m. PT with the Triller Fight Club Pay-Per-View commencing at 12:00 a.m. BST / 7:00 p.m. ET / 4:00 p.m. PT as the HAYE vs. FOURNIER eight-round heavyweight battle opens the broadcast. The Pay-Per-View is priced at $49.99 in North America and £9.99 ($13.99) in the UK.

Boxing’s biggest international star for over 15 years, De La Hoya was an 11-time world champion in six different weight classes while captivating fans all over the world and setting the standard by generating over $700 million dollars in pay-per-view income.

De La Hoya’s first world championship fight with then rival Shane Mosley was the inaugural event held at STAPLES Center on June 17, 2000. Among the sold-out crowd of 20,744 in attendance were a wealth of celebrities from the sports and entertainment world.

Known throughout his career for fighting the best competition and ‘taking on all comers’, included among the victories during De La Hoya’s Hall of Fame career are world champions; Julio Cesar Chavez, Pernell Whitaker, Ike Quartey, Fernando Vargas, Hector Camacho, Arturo Gatti, Yori Boy Campas, Ricardo Mayorga, Wilfredo Rivera and Felix Sturm.

Co-featured at LEGENDS II, UFC Legends, ANDERSON ‘THE SPIDER’ SILVA from Sao Paolo, Brazil and ‘THE HUNTINGTON BEACH BAD BOY’ TITO ORTIZ will clash in an eight-round cruiserweight boxing match for combat sports supremacy.

Also, at LEGENDS II, Former Heavyweight and Cruiserweight World Champion DAVID ‘THE HAYEMAKER’ HAYE will face off against JOE FOURNIER in a scheduled eight-round heavyweight battle.

Additionally, in a highly anticipated 10-rounder, ANDY ‘El TIBURON’ VENCES, (23-2-1, 12 KOs), of San Jose, CA will challenge Ireland’s JONO ‘KING KONG’ CARROLL, (19-2-1, 5 KOs), for the vacant WBC International Silver Super-Featherweight Title.

The entire LEGENDS II event is produced by Triller Fight Club visionary NIGEL LYTHGOE, award-winning producer of American Idol and the executive producer and creator of ‘So You Think You Can Dance and will be hosted by SNOOP DOGG.

Musical acts announced for the extraordinary event include a Once-In-A-Lifetime Performance by SNOOP DOGG with The One and Only MARVIN GAYE, plus ANITTA, LUNAY and GENTE DE ZONA and others.



 

Home | Main | Reports | Video | Audio | Photos | Ring Girls | P4P Top 10 | Links | Contact

© Pound4Pound.com